greenlife52

mikegreen

So I’m sure you’ve heard by now about “Mike Green’s” new site, greenlife52.com.

I first heard of it from The Hockey Chronicles. Of course, today, you can never know if something that just pops up out of nowhere is real or not. Since I can’t really go right to the source of Mike Green, I did the next best thing, and tweeted Nate Ewell, who said this.

The response that I got was mainly something along the lines of “If that is his site, someone needs to help him with his grammar.” Then again, that really wouldn’t be much of a surprise because: 1. he’s a young guy, and most young guys don’t use proper grammar on the Internet and 2. he has admitted to not reading a book since seventh grade.

While the site definitely looked legit, I didn’t think it was real.

God forbid I actually learned something in school, but they always told us that when we were researching for papers and projects, you can tell unreliable sources from simple grammatical and spelling errors made on the site.

After really looking at the site, it doesn’t look so legit after all. The bio was just filled with endless grammatical errors (I’m no professor of grammar, but they’re easy mistakes that shouldn’t be made). It seems like on most athletes’ or celebrities’ sites, they have someone else write the bio for them, hence the uses of Mike Green or Vinny Lecavalier instead of I in that section. Now, I’m guessing Greener has atleast one friend who is competent enough to notice all the mistakes made. Elliot Segal‘s name is even spelled incorrectly as Seagal.

Another thing I noticed: American spelling is used instead of Canadian spelling. Defenceman is spelled the American way defenseman.

You can decide yourself, and we’re still waiting to hear from Nate, but I personally don’t think it’s the real Mike. If it is, we need to call the grammar police on him because that is just too much.

2 Comments

Filed under Hockey, NHL, Sports, Washington Capitals

2 responses to “greenlife52

  1. Innnteresting…nice detective work! You make some really great points, it’ll be interesting to see if this is real or not (and if not I’ll feel bad about linking to it :P)

  2. Lulu

    I don’t remember how I found your site, but I did and I love it. I liked this post about greenlife52.com. I did a little more checking today and wanted to let you know what I found.

    There are places online where you can go to see who a website is registered to…so I hit one of them up and found out that greenlife52 is registered to Derek Couture. When you Google Derek, you find out he’s a hockey player, born in 1984 in Calgary. Hockeydb has listed that he played with Greenie in Saskatoon or wherever it was.

    I also found a post on the web design agency site…http://www.inqbation.com/blog/dc-web-designer-launches-mike-green-website/. Sounds like it’s real. Real cheesy.

Leave a Reply

